Good tidings

December 18, 2010 at 12:13 pm Leave a comment

“Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy,”  Luke 2:10.

From heaven above to earth I come,

To bear good news to every home,
Glad tidings of great joy I bring,
Whereof I now will gladly sing.

To you this night is born a Child
Of Mary, chosen mother mild;
This little Child, of lowly birth,
Shall be the joy of all the earth.

Glory to God in highest heaven,
Who unto us His Son hath given!
While angels sing with pious mirth,
A glad New Year to all the earth.

— Martin Luther
This past Sunday our music director encouraged the congregation to use Christmas carols to enhance our time with God during the Christmas season.  It gave me the idea to do that in my devotionals as well.  The song I chose this week is one I am not familiar with but the words really spoke to my heart.  We can become very busy with activities during this season but I know taking time to really listen to the words of the Christmas carols we hear everywhere can lift our spirits and encourage us.  In thinking about Luke 2 I am reminded of the quote from Linus in Charlie Brown Christmas.  He said; “Lights please.” then proceeded to read Luke chapter 2.   After he finished, he said: “So there you have it, Charlie Brown. That’s the true meaning of Christmas.

I pray that we will all keep our focus on the one who came to give us life and to be the joy of all the earth.

Deb Erickson, Prayer Coordinator



Entry filed under: Devotional, Staff Contributions. Tags: , , , , .

Giving Thanks Lord at Thy Birth

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

