More Ready4Life Reflections…

April 26, 2010 at 1:20 pm Leave a comment

Six of us made up the team that led the Ready4Life training. Serge, who lives in NH, submits this account of his experience with the inmates:

As I reflect back on the Ready4Life training training that I was blessed to be a part of last weekend, I would like to share some of what I witnessed. I think one of the best questions from these young men was, “How do I know that I am a man?” When this discussion came about, there was complete focus and I could notice that there was complete attention being given to others as they answered what they thought were the qualities of a man. I guess this is a good question for all of us to think about…. At times during the training there was some side-bar conversations going on, but when the training provided scripture examples all eyes and attention were fixed on him and the side-bar talking subsided. They were truly interested in learning about Him. It was easy to see that He was transforming the lives of these young men. I witnessed a transformation of love for others during the training.

As I looked around during the second day of lunch break, there were many people playing hoop without incident, people break dancing, rap music for Christ and fellowship throughout the gym. What was even more amazing was that we looked around at all the activity and there were no prison guards to be seen. It remained this way throughout the training.

This Wednesday morning (we left Sunday afternoon) I received a letter from one of the inmates and I would like to share a very small portion of this letter. “…I don’t know how these words are coming out, maybe it’s God or just all in my mind. I hope that it’s God because I feel so good about this letter and if it wasn’t God then I don’t think that I would have wrote to you this fast or at all but the words are just flowing out. I can’t express the love I have for you; see it surprised me to know that the feeling I felt was love Serge…” I was so excited to see how God has moved into this young man’s life.

I was speaking to my wife about my drive home from CT to NH. I told her I had a peace about myself that I did not know how to explain. Monday morning I just opened up my bible to read and it opened to Malachi. Mal 3:10 says, “Bring all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be food in My house, and try Me now in this,” says the Lord of hosts, “If I will not open for you the windows of heaven and pour out for you such blassing that there will not be room enough to receive it.” I said, “THAT’S IT!” God had poured out such blessings at this training that I did not have enough room to receive it all. I was at a peace I had never known before and I truly believe that He poured out so much blessing that I did not even know how to describe the peace that I felt. All the glory to Him!

I am thankful to Straight Ahead Ministry to allow me to be part of this training and be a witness to the incredible work that they are doing all over this country to see Jesus Christ transform the lives of Juvenile Offenders. Amen!

Serge Jn3:16

Entry filed under: Volunteer Stories. Tags: , .

In the Belly of a Whale And the Angels Rejoice

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

