He is Risen Indeed

April 1, 2010 at 9:11 am Leave a comment

Last summer my husband, Lance, and I made a visit to Portland, Maine.  We walked along the waterfront, browsed the shops, and enjoyed some fresh seafood.  It was an enjoyable and relaxing time.  When we returned to our car this sense of peace and contentment was interrupted when I noticed a parking ticket on our windshield.  “Ugh!” is the best way to describe my initial reaction.  Eager to get this regrettable incident behind us and enjoy the rest of our day, I said, “Let’s just pay it and drop it in the nearest mailbox.”  As Lance studied the ticket he said, “We don’t have to pay it.”  He handed it to me and I read, “The City of Portland values your visit. The city will automatically void the first code 1, D, or T violation notice….This requires no action on your part.” (We were a “Code 1”).   What a relief!  We were given a second chance!

As I looked at the ticket again later, I found an interesting statement that made me even more thankful, this time to the Lord.  It continued, “All other violations are not eligible for forgiveness and will require payment.” Wow!  Imagine that, not being “eligible for forgiveness” and having to pay for my “violations”!  I thought about how this was exactly the position I was in before I put my faith in Christ and received His payment – death on the cross for my “violations”, my sins.  Not even the most moral or wealthiest person on earth could pay such a price!  Only through Christ – “by grace through faith” (Ephesians 2:8-9) are any of us “eligible for forgiveness.”   That is amazing grace!

As we celebrate the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the grave this Sunday, we are reminded again that He took our sins and we are forgiven once and for all. This is good news!

-Laura Williams, NH Coordinator


Entry filed under: Bible Study Leaders, Staff Contributions. Tags: , .

When Jesus Visits A Decade of Service

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

