When Jesus Visits

March 22, 2010 at 12:52 pm 1 comment

On Wednesday Jesus visited me and I missed him. It wasn’t until Sunday that I even realized that He had stopped by. Busy-ness, worry, and lack of insight blinded me. As I sat next to Him in church on Sunday, He opened my eyes and heart. Once again I had to say, “I’m sorry.”

Jesus came as Ray, a young man I have known for 15 years. Ray has been in and out of lock-ups since he was 14 years old and he struggles with mental health issues and heroin addiction. He recently got out of prison and the other day he called from Boston saying he’d been kicked out of the place he was living. He is a Straight Ahead prayer partner and is one of my “keepers”…A group of guys who have become like family to me.

Yet here He was and my mind was elsewhere. “I have to get ready for the missions trip. I am leaving soon with the group and I have to get ready for the camp. Where is my list? I’m not even ready for the seminars that I’ll be teaching in South Africa and I told them that I would send the outlines by the end of this week.”

“And now I have to help Ray get his medication and find a place to live?”

In that still, quiet voice that the Holy Spirit blesses us with, I heard, “Isn’t it for him, that I have given you this ministry? Isn’t he a gift in your life?” I was reminded of Matthew 25: 37:40… “Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you? When did we see you thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we visit you in prison?”

Boom. It hit me. “Sorry. I missed you again, Lord.”

After some phone calls, a few hundred miles in the car and much prayer Ray is on his way to a shelter and maybe to a hospital to get some help.

Please pray for him as the Lord brings him to mind. And pray that I do not miss Jesus again.

-John Kinsley, Straight Ahead’s International and New England Coordinator

Entry filed under: Bible Study Leaders, Volunteer Stories. Tags: , .

Scissors and Prayer He is Risen Indeed

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mark Collett  |  April 8, 2010 at 1:59 am

    What a joy and blessing to read such powerful stories from my brothers and sisters in Christ. How often I also miss the Lord, yet He’s patient and longsuffering with me, always inviting me to see Him where I already am. Thank you Lord for your faithfulness, even when I’ve been so faithless. May I choose the better place like Mary, content to rest and learn in your presence. Minister to others through your brokenness in us. Forgive me that I have not seen you in others all around me. Continue to reach the young, the least, the lonely and lost. We need you every bit as much as they. Glory to God for Straight Ahead Ministries! for the awesome legacy and commitment. May doors be open like never before, young lives reached and restored for eternity. Amen! Blessings to you. Mark Collett

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

