Touched By God

February 16, 2010 at 6:36 pm Leave a comment

Straight Ahead staff and affiliates oversee 400 weekly Bible studies in juvenile lock-up facilities in 17 states, many of which occur here in Massachusetts. Karen leads a Bible study in a girls’ detention center twice a month. I received this email detailing her time of ministry with the girls:

We had an awesome time at the girls’ lock up today! When I arrived they informed me they were short on staff and I’d have to wait awhile. When a staff member finally came to the lobby to let me in she asked, “Are you sure you still want to do it? There isn’t a lot of time for a lesson.” She led me through the maze of locks and doors and this time the supervisor asked, “Are you sure you want to do this?” We only had about 22 minutes left. Insisting I would take whatever time was available, I was seated in the meeting room and three precious girls walked in. I noticed hollow, “institutional” expressions, like sad, displaced people with just a glimmer of hope in their eyes.

I’d never met these girls before, but God unleashed a wonderful and very condensed flow of love and power for their lives. It was like an injection of spiritual insulin! They all took Bibles and followed along as we culled from Hebrews and John and left with a hunger to dig in and feast on God’s Word!

God is great!!! As I was leaving, the supervisor and the other 23 girls noticed we were all coming out with big smiles. “It doesn’t take long to be touched by God,” I said. Pray for these girls to thirst for the water of life and to know the love of God that surpasses everything else on the planet.

Three came in with long faces. Three left with new Bibles, and rejuvenated spirits, ready to dig in and feast on God’s Word! Wow, do I feel blessed!

Entry filed under: Volunteer Stories. Tags: , .

Stone By Stone Why We Go

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

