Stone By Stone

February 10, 2010 at 3:31 pm Leave a comment

A poem from a young man in lock-up, and an encouragement to all youth workers to continue pressing in…

I have a wall you cannot see because it’s deep inside of me
It blocks my heart on every side and helps emotions there to hide
You can’t reach in, I can’t reach out; you wonder what it’s all about
The wall I built that you can’t see results from insecurity
Each time my tender heart was hurt the scars within grew worse and worse
So stone by stone I built a wall that’s now so thick it will not fall
Please understand that it’s not you; continue trying to break through

I want so much to show myself; love from you will really help
So bit by bit, chip at my wall, till stone by stone it starts to fall
I know the process will be slow; it’s never easy to let go
Of hurts and failures long ingrained upon one’s heart from years of pain
I’m so afraid to let you in; I know I might get hurt again
I try so hard to break the wall but I seem to get nowhere at all
For stone upon stone I’ve stacked, and left between them not a crack

The only way to make it fall is imperfections in the wall
I did the best I could to build a perfect wall, but there are still a few small flaws
Which are the key, to breaking through the wall to me
Please use each flaw to cause a crack, to knock a stone off of the stack
For just as stone by stone was laid, with every hurt and every pain
So stone by stone the wall will break, just as love replaces each ache
Please be the one who cares enough to find the flaws no matter what

Entry filed under: Stories from Kids. Tags: , , , .

Hello world! Touched By God

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

